Senior BJP Leader, Two Others from Himachal Pradesh Join AAP

Harmel Dhiman, who was national executive member of the BJP’s Scheduled Caste Morcha, joined AAP. (Credits: ANI)

Harmel Dhiman, who was national executive member of the BJP’s Scheduled Caste Morcha, joined the AAP along with his supporters.

  • PTI New Delhi
  • Last Updated:April 13, 2022, 15:19 IST

A senior BJP leader from Himachal Pradesh joined the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) here on Wednesday, saying he was fed up with the policy of the saffron party. Harmel Dhiman, who was national executive member of the BJP’s Scheduled Caste Morcha, joined the AAP along with his supporters in the presence of senior party leaders.

Along with Dhiman two other BJP leaders from Himachal Pradesh Devraj and Jagdish Pawar also joined the AAP. Addressing a press conference, senior AAP leader and Delhi Health Minister Satyendar Jain said more BJP leaders from Himachal Pradesh are set to join the Arvind Kejriwal-led party soon. Dhiman ji is a well-known face in Himachal Pradesh. Fed up with the BJP’s policy, he is joining the Aam Aadmi Party today. He was actively associated with the BJP for the past 30 years and was serving as the national executive member of the BJP’s SC Morcha , Jain told reporters. Dhiman also served as vice president of the BJP’s Himachal Pradesh SC Morcha earlier, he added While Devraj had been two-time Mandal president for the BJP in Himachal Pradesh, Pawar was two term Pradhan (village head) and served as the member of the block development council and district council in the hill state, Jain said.

At least 1000 people from the BJP will join the Aam Aadmi Party soon. I will soon be visiting Kasauli in this connection, he added. Jain is in-charge of the AAP’s political affairs in Himachal Pradesh which will go to polls later this year. I am joining the Aam Aadmi Party today because I was fed with the policy of the BJP. I have joined this party because I am impressed with Arvind Kejriwal’s work and ideology, Dhiman told reporters after joining AAP. The AAP on Monday had dissolved its Himachal Pradesh working committee, announcing that it will reorganise it soon following defection of the top functionaries of the party’s state unit and some other leaders to the BJP.

Last week, AAP Himachal Pradesh president Anup Kesari, general secretary (organisation) Satish Thakur and Una district chief Iqbal Singh had joined the BJP in the presence of its president JP Nadda and Union Minister and Hamirpur MP Anurag Thakur here in the national capital. Thakur had taken a jibe at the AAP on Monday after few more AAP leaders including women wing chief Mamata Thakur joined the BJP, saying Kejriwal will find it difficult to save his party’s organisation in Himachal Pradesh.

Kejriwal had thought about forming a government in the state but he is finding it tough to save his party’s organisation, he said. Elections are due to be held in Himachal Pradesh later this year.

Read all the Latest News , Breaking News and IPL 2022 Live Updates here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Rajasthan CM Gehlot Plays Down Upset Minister’s Tweet, Says Should Not Be Taken Seriously

A day after Rajasthan sports minister asked to be relieved from his post over the conduct of the CM’s principal secretary, Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot on Friday said Ashok Chandna’s tweet should not be taken seriously as he might be under pressure due to the workload. Chandna on Thursday expressed anguish over the conduct of […]

Read More

Shivpal Yadav Wants his Seat Changed on Basis of ‘Seniority’, Writes to UP Assembly Speaker

Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohiya) chief and MLA from Etawah’s Jaswantnagar assembly seat Shivpal Yadav has asked the speaker of UP assembly to change his seat. Shivpal, in his letter to UP assembly speaker Satish Mahana, cited ‘seniority’ as the reason behind seeking change of his seat. The 67-year-old politician is currently a Samajwadi Party MLA […]

Read More

UP May Surprise With Tough Fight for 11th Seat, Bihar on Watch for Ally Arithmetic

As the date nears for elections to 57 Rajya Sabha seats on June 10, lobbying by ticket aspirants has intensified across political parties with those set to retire also pushing for another term. While 11 seats are falling vacant in Uttar Pradesh, six members each are retiring from Tamil Nadu and Maharashtra, five from Bihar […]

Read More