Postal Ballot Facility for Overseas Voters Being Contemplated: CEC Chandra

Lamenting that the number of registered overseas voters is “abysmally low”, Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra has told members of the Indian community in South Africa and Mauritius that the facility to extend postal ballot facility for NRI electors is being contemplated. According to an official statement issued by the Election Commission, Chandra interacted with members of the Indian community during his official visit to the two countries and urged them to register as overseas voters as the present numbers are “abysmally low”.

He also told members of the Indian community that extension of the Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System (ETPBS) facility to overseas voters is being contemplated. The ETPBS facility is so far available only to service voters, including members of the armed forces and central armed police forces posted outside their home constituencies and members of Indian embassies and diplomatic missions.

In 2020, the EC had proposed to the government to extend the ETPBS facility to eligible overseas Indian voters as well. In a letter to the legislative secretary in the law ministry on November 27, 2020, the commission had said that with the successful execution of ETPBS in the case of service voters, it is now “confident” that the facility can also be extended to the overseas electors. The EC, the Union Law Ministry, and the Ministry of External Affairs are trying to hammer out certain issues related to extending the facility to overseas Indian voters.

As of now, overseas Indians are free to cast their votes in constituencies they are registered in. EC sources said nearly 112000 overseas Indians are registered as voters During the visit to the two countries, a briefing-cum-interaction was organized with the NRI community at Cape Town, Johannesburg, and Port Louis.

Chandra shared the Indian experience of conducting elections with the members of the diaspora. He said that India, being the largest democracy, conducts elections for more than 950 million voters across more than a million polling stations. Over the past few years, Indian elections have made steady progress towards making elections inclusive and accessible which has led to greater participation of women, persons with disabilities, and senior citizens in Indian elections.

The CEC said this remarkable achievement of conducting free, fair, and participative elections in a country as diverse as India comes as a result of robust election management practices which include the use of technology for enhancing the participation of voters through applications like cVIGIL, voter education through SVEEP, use of EVM-VVPAT, all-women managed polling booths, single unified electoral roll on a single digital platform, deployment of central observers and very robust expenditure monitoring mechanisms

Read all the Latest News , Breaking News and IPL 2022 Live Updates here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Rajasthan CM Gehlot Plays Down Upset Minister’s Tweet, Says Should Not Be Taken Seriously

A day after Rajasthan sports minister asked to be relieved from his post over the conduct of the CM’s principal secretary, Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot on Friday said Ashok Chandna’s tweet should not be taken seriously as he might be under pressure due to the workload. Chandna on Thursday expressed anguish over the conduct of […]

Read More

Shivpal Yadav Wants his Seat Changed on Basis of ‘Seniority’, Writes to UP Assembly Speaker

Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohiya) chief and MLA from Etawah’s Jaswantnagar assembly seat Shivpal Yadav has asked the speaker of UP assembly to change his seat. Shivpal, in his letter to UP assembly speaker Satish Mahana, cited ‘seniority’ as the reason behind seeking change of his seat. The 67-year-old politician is currently a Samajwadi Party MLA […]

Read More

UP May Surprise With Tough Fight for 11th Seat, Bihar on Watch for Ally Arithmetic

As the date nears for elections to 57 Rajya Sabha seats on June 10, lobbying by ticket aspirants has intensified across political parties with those set to retire also pushing for another term. While 11 seats are falling vacant in Uttar Pradesh, six members each are retiring from Tamil Nadu and Maharashtra, five from Bihar […]

Read More